News & Updates

IND vs Eng 3rd Test: Why Rishabh Pant was allowed to bat at his regular place despite remembering fielding duty – explained. Cricket news

India’s batsman Rishabh Pant (Photo by Stu Founder/Getty Image)

Rishabh Pant did not take the ground on 2 of the third Test after injuring his finger while staying on day 1. The answer is yes – and it is completely within the rules.

Why Pant can still bat at number 5

According to the ICC’s sports status, a player who recalls fielding due to external injury or illness is allowed to bat in his regular position, unless the absence is considered valid. Since the pants were injured during the game and the team was verified by the physio, there was no violation of the protocol.

Inside the Duke Ball Drama: Gill’s anger, Bumrah stand, take the route

This is different from situations where players deliberately stay out of the field for strategic reasons. In those cases, the player may face a batting ban and only after a certain number of over passage.

Voting

Should the players be allowed to bat when injured but cannot do the field?

The case of pants falls under the “injury or external blow” section, which provides complete flexibility. The return of pants to bat at number 5 was a big boost for India, in response to England’s 387, it came after losing three wickets for just 65 India in England. He and KL Rahul kept the innings continuously with a concrete partnership. While Rahul kept things calm, the pants added energy at the other end. The fact is that he did not take the field, he did not impress his batting eligibility, and for India, it made all the differences.

READ MORE:  How Gill, Gambhir decided on India's number 4

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button